Is this what they mean when they say ‘life goes on…’?

Life goes on…?

Does it really?

But where does it go? ‘On’, I mean…

Could it be a softer tone for the impending ‘life goes off’ that is implied in the ‘life goes on’  verbal support people in the counselling zone are wont to give?

As I continue with this soliloquy, I cannot but help wonder when I started doubting the ‘life goes on’ parameter set by those who believe they are privy to the balancing act on the life and death scale.

LIFE DOES NOT GO ON – full stop!

It just stops. Freezes its act and lets the horizon play a slow motion clipping to bring home some unpalatable truths that have a quiver of ‘on’ antonyms to share. And there you sit, if you are lucky that is; or kneel or prostrate, hoping divine intervention would bend the gods of the ‘on’ world to give you a slice of their ‘on’ fruit. Possibly from the forbidden Eve tree. You sit/kneel/prostrate there, uncertain… Should I take a bite? Should I wait for the lords above to turn the ‘off’ to an on…?

But again, who wants a ‘life goes on’ when the ‘on’ is pegged on to a drab life that was even otherwise waiting for an ‘off’.

Life, I know, isn’t about ‘on’ and ‘off’, although those two prepositions describe life better than any other word, with onomatopoeia for effect! But well, again!! Whoever wants a life-describing ‘on’ or an ‘off’ when the ongoing in-between is much more complex than a soulless ‘on’ or a soul-searching ‘off’!

Amen

About suzy

I am Suzy. I have only ever been Suzy. Have aspired to be many things - even many people - but have never crossed the Suzy threshold. At 43 (not anymore) i have the gumption to admit that that status qou will never change. Mothering three children has had a steadying effect. But am still cross-legged atop the himalayas of my mind, hoping intervention of the divine kind will push me to that elusive know-thyself land. until then, bear with me folks!

Posted on January 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Life is beautiful because there are people like you in it. Time flies, but certain people don’t change… and life thus become blessed. Moving on could also mean learning new things, both the good and the bad… Moving on also means hope… keep the faith always!

Leave a comment